top of page
Search

Things Writer’s Do that I Hate as a Reader pt. 2

Welcome back everyone! It hasn’t been that long since I posted, but I have a fun post for this week. I wanted to make a part two to this series since the “Things Writer’s Do that I Love” already has a part two. In the first part of this post, I included five things which are: cliffhangers, not ending the series, slow moving beginnings, pointless scenes/scenes that are too long, and an overused phrase. With the recap out of the way, let’s get right into it.

1. Poor character development

I am a reader that is more character driven than plot driven meaning if I do not like or connect with the main characters than I can’t make it through the book. It kind of sounds dumb and dramatic, but I just can’t care about a character’s journey when I don’t like them. This happened recently when I tried reading The Hating Game, I just saw the main character as obsessive and annoying, and I just couldn’t make it through. Which is kind of a sub-point to this one:

1.2: annoying/whiny characters

I can’t deal with a character that always and I mean ALWAYS complains about something. It becomes all I think about when reading and then the book isn't fun to read anymore. But I do have to say, this doesn't happen often. And it just takes away from the story. It's just like please stfu and let's get on with it. I don't want chapters and chapters of the same thing.

2. Major Motion Picture Covers

Okay I do have to disclaim; this isn't the writer's fault. They most likely have no control over this, but I'm still including it because I don't like it. I hate when the front cover changes just because its going to the big screen. I think it looks awful. Even if I really like a series, I still don’t by the movie version. It just looks tacky in my opinion. I don't think I've ever bought one. I don't know I also don't like having real people on covers either.

3. Character names that are too similar to each other

I fill like this mostly happens in movies or TV shows than books, but it does happen every once in a while. Sometimes I just can’t keep certain characters straight and I mix them up with someone else in the book. This can also happen when the character names are hard to pronounce and also have similar looking names. Like I said it doesn’t happen often, but it still happens nonetheless.

Alright folks, that’s all I have for today! Thank you for reading and come back next week for another post!

12 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page